Goodbye Facebook days

I’m free now. Free from all the fake happiness, fake celebrations, fake sadness, fake people with fake principles and a lot more. I would prefer calling it ‘Fakebook’ rather than Facebook. (This is entirely my personal opinion and I don’t mean to hurt anyone). For long I had been reluctant to join Facebook or Fb as it is popularly called, although it used to be one of the hottest topics of discussion among my classmates, during my college days. But it was three years back that I was compelled to sign up for a Facebook account due to official reasons, while doing my masters. Thus began my experience with the world of social network.

I never felt Facebook, or for that matter any social networking site, was a platform to make new friends, not to mention genuine friends. It is purely a venue for all those who wanted a boost to their egos. Who wouldn’t love to have people fawning on them. One random photo upload and people are more than ready to shower its owner with compliments in the hope that the favour would be returned. I can hardly imagine such lovely comments in the real world. If you really need to appreciate a person, why not do it directly? I can’t understand the need for such double standards. This is just about the aspect of popularity that one tries to attain, which they are unable to do in the real world. And it was the first thing I disliked about Facebook.

I’ve seen people on these sites post even the smallest achievements in their lives, thanking and tagging a lot many people. I do accept that however insignificant your achievement may be to others, it will still be a moment of joy for the concerned individual. But does that mean you need to tag a hell lot of people in your post. If it’s really meant to show your gratitude to someone, wouldn’t it be wonderful to go and thank them personally and individually. At least that’s what I would prefer. I’m sure there will be quite a considerable number of people who would love to be tagged in such posts. But I’m not the one for such things.

Then you have the photo upload maniacs all over these social networking sites, who upload literally a hundred pictures of a birthday celebration or a family tour. Do they seriously think people are that jobless to patiently see all these.

The most disgusting of all is when someone posts about the good deeds they’ve done. I’ve seen posts saying they have helped these many people, say in an orphanage or an old age home, and upload pictures of it. I don’t need to mention the praise that they are going to get in the virtual world. Now my question is, why do people do good? Is it to gain popularity. Charity has also become a commodity now. Of course these post owners would be ready to explain themselves by saying that they are trying to inspire others, but I seriously doubt if it is that effective.

Now, to the most important and dangerous of all aspects that I’ve felt. On Facebook, every other person is either a Hindu, a Christian, a Muslim or something else, but never a human being. It is as if anything and everything takes the colour of religion. Any incident that takes place in the country, is reported with respect to some religion. If a person is attacked by another, the most common report would be like, ‘Muslim attacked by a Hindu’, or vice versa. Isn’t it the same as one human being attacked by another irrespective of religion or caste. Of course, India is a land of diversity, but this is the only kind of diversity that I can find in the virtual world. Come out into the real world, and you can find people of different colour and creed interacting with each other, blissfully oblivious to their differences.  It’s only on Facebook that many people realise the significance of their religion or caste.

I really do hate the fake patriotism that I see on Facebook. It is as if only those people who change their profile picture into that of the national flag on days of national importance, are the real patriots! How many of these people will be ready to work for their country in real life? Why do I need to do such silly things to prove my love for my country?

Now that I have decided to give a break to Facebook, my life has become a lot more peaceful. I no more get worried or anxious about the happenings around me in the virtual world. I am now able to enjoy and take joy in the things around me rather than all the communal hatred in the virtual world. I no longer have to ponder over why I am the only person on earth with a hell lot of problems, when everyone else seem to post happy pictures. I don’t anymore need to get into heated virtual arguments over religion and caste.

The only disadvantage, if that’s how you would like to call it, is that it’s a little difficult to maintain my contacts. But, it’s better that way. If I want to contact my friends, there are a lot of other means of communication much more effective than Facebook. Obviously, now there will be very few birthday wishes without Facebook to remind my friends. Still, it’s making me happy, because the wishes that I now get are genuine and from the heart. I have come to realise who my real friends are. If someone really cares for you, they will come in search of you, no matter where you are. You don’t need any social networking site for that. I have learnt to let go of all the fake relationships that I lost when i decided to quit Facebook. The real world is much more beautiful.

14 thoughts on “Goodbye Facebook days

  1. Yes Fakebook. I didn’t join it until 2014 because I wanted to share photos of a family wedding we all went to in Jamaica. Initially, I thought this was fun. But, it rather blood sucking energy draining, and it winds you up. It is not a distraction that is helpful, instead it creates worries, and upsets. It is not a value added tool to our life. Well done to you. I keep thinking of logging myself out, but family sometimes contact me, – but I am definitely limited my use of it. I still keep it cause you get good health stuff and I just love quotes, Ignore the other stuff – you know what i mean

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely think you have some valid points. My husband has not spent time on Facebook for about 3 years and hasn’t missed it one bit. I on the other hand, enjoy it, within the boundaries I have set for myself. I realize that most people only share the good of their lives on FB. I don’t accept everyone’s friend request, I limit the time I spend there ( and don’t use the app) and I take FB sabbaticals from time to time. Sometimes I grow weary, but that’s when the hide or unfollow button becomes helpful or when I know it’s time to unplug for a while. 🙂 Just like my blog is my blog, my FB is my FB, I am not obligated to anyone but me. I have a large extended family, most that live far away and we are closer now with Facebook than we have been since we were kids. I LOVE that about it. It has been great seeing what is happening with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with that, FB does provide an excellent platform to connect when you have a large family spread in different corners of the world. But one should be able to set boundaries like you have done, before it starts eating on one’s peace of mind. 🙂

      Like

  3. Agree to all your thoughts. Long ago it was announced that we all have two lives. One physical and one virtual. Sadly some have forgot that we have physical world too mostly because of FB. The presence in virtual world can be made at its best in many ways! Above all, real is real!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We’ve all got a word to say when it comes to Facebook, and the Fakebook. What you’ve said is true, Facebook is kinda becoming a way to just show off, and not a way to connect, like it was meant to be.
    And the profile pic thing? I have never done it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with a lot of this. I quit FB for over two years before going back to it this year because of wanting to connect with people more easily. I think we are at the point now that whether it’s FB or something else, social media connects us more than other things – sad but maybe true. Not saying I like it, it’s just what I see.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I certainly understand Facebook and other social media aren’t for everyone and I agree that face-to-face friendship is preferable to only communicating online. That said, I have found it to be a wonderful opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new ones. Living in a rural community, it gives me a social life I wouldn’t normally have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

