IBMC #09: The Be a Baby Challenge

“When a person really desires something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dream.” – Paulo Coelho (The Alchemist).

This is one of my all time favourite quotes. It was recently that I realised the depth of the statement. Here I’ll narrate my story of how I learned to be independent. It was a step by step process much like a baby learning to take its first steps to finally walk independently.

Having been brought up by overprotective parents, I was always dependent on them. My only interaction with the outside world was with my schoolmates and close family members. My father would accompany me wherever I wanted to go. You woudn’t believe if I said that I had never travelled alone till the end of my teenage years. But it’s quite true that I never ever had used any local public transport too. That was the way I was brought up. As a child, it never mattered to me, but as I grew up and saw my friends quite confident about their lives, I decided to change.

It was then that my first job took me to a completely different place. A new place, new people, new environment and even a new language. That was the beginning. Slowly I learned to do thing on my own. I learned to cook, go shopping, buy groceries, and a lot more, all by myself. It was difficult, but I wanted to do it. Many a times I was scared of losing my way in the new place where I didn’t even know the local language. But like Paulo Coelho said, the entire world conspired in helping achieve what I wanted. Not even once did I lose my way, there was always someone or something that helped me. The biggest change was that I learned to travel alone, be it an autorikshaw, bus, train or even a flight. I still remember the first time I got on a bus. All that I knew was the name of the stop that I wanted to get down. I was really scared if I’ll miss the stop, or what I would do if I got down at the wrong place. I kept my fingers crossed. I was successful in my first attempt and thanked God.

Now I am no more the timid girl I used to be. I am confident enough to travel any where and achieve my dreams. I have learnt to stand on my own legs.

Like Coelho said, “Be brave. Take risks. Nothing can substitute experience.”

Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge #09

9
One thought on “IBMC #09: The Be a Baby Challenge

Leave a Reply

